home

Diary

Sometimes a few sentences, sometimes a lot more

September '24

Things are going along nicely. I feel like I'm making new friends and growing a lot closer with some others I've met recently. As for my older friends, it's a mixed bag. There's a couple that I'm seeing a lot more recently, but many others I barely talk to. Recently a couple of my best friends started dating, and it's weird given how they are two of the people I used to be closest with, and now I only ever hear from them when something like this happens.

It also gets me thinking that I should shoot my shot with the girl I like, but it seems like every time I might, something comes up that prevents me (or more likely, something comes up that I use as an excuse to back out). But honestly I enjoy the time we spend together regardless.

I had a week off for my country's national holidays, which of course I enjoyed by leaving the country to go to Buenos Aires. It was nice to get a break, but I think I spent a little too much time in my own head. But I got to ride a few trains, so I can't complain.

I'm trying to find time to do some small and cool things. I started doing origami this week, not sure where I got the idea from but It was a good idea. Fun and chill and cool and small. I've also been exploring cool websites that I've been finding through neocities. Speaking of which, this site is starting to come together really nicely. I'm feeling more comfortable with putting stuff here and have some ideas of what I want to do. I'm probably going to push the new version of the site sometime after writing this.

Spring has only just started but I want summer. I'm not a summer person, but this year I'm really craving the heat. I want to be able to leave my window open at night while I'm on vc with my friends at 3 am and still be hot.

been listening to: Lorde - Melodrama

August '24

Hello! I've been in a good mood lately. There's this group of friends at uni that I've been sort of around for a while now but I hadn't really gotten to know before, but this semester I've started to properly integrate with them (which I only realized when I got added to the group chat haha). So that has been great, and I have to admit I have been keeping some distance with most, but there's a few I really started to get along with. In other news, I'm really enjoying my classes and despite all the work, I'm having fun. I've never felt so much like I'm on the right track as right now.

I'm a bit embarrassed to talk about this but I've been crushing on a friend for a while now. Sometimes I flip on whether I like her or not but these days I'm fairly sure I do. I'm scared of saying anything because things could get really awkward, but maybe I'll work up the courage one of these days.

been listening to: Gracie Abrams - The Secret of Us / Death Cab for Cutie - Plans

July '24

Finished my finals, and so the semester is over. And as I'm writing this, I'm about to begin the next semester. It never ends. I kid mostly, this semester I get to take a course on transportation systems, which I'm looking forward to. Also I'm taking a course with a girl I like 😳 so that's going to be nice.

These past few weeks have been vacations and I've been having a blast. Here's a list of what I've done:

  • Sleep
  • Eat
  • While that is mostly true, I've also been up to some other stuff. I randomly stumbled upon a yt video about warrior cats and proceeded to obsess for a few days. I used to read it when I was a kid, and it's been really cool connecting with it again and remembering all the crazy stuff that happened (the only thing I remembered clearly was Snowkit, which is not exactly the fondest memory). It's weird how little I remembered given that one of my usernames is actually a character from the series, but I guess it never really crossed my mind again until now.

    I've also been gaming. The first thing I did when I finished my last exam was get home and create a new minecraft world, of course, which I played for about a week (I'm sure I'll get back to it one day). Then I completed Signalis, which I enjoyed but by god that game is way harder than it needs to be. Now I've been playing Rain World, specifically the Downpour slugcats. Gourmand was interesting and Artificer was really fun, though I'm now writing this right after rage-quitting Rivulet haha.

    It's also been a great month for the sports I watch. I watched all of Argentina's matches for the Copa America, which they of course won beautifully, winning their third consecutive tournament and making them the most successful Argentine team in history, so that was fun. Formula 1 has also been really fun to watch. As a ferrari and Russell fan I am suffering, but as a F1 fan I'm having a blast. It really feels like every race things get crazier and crazier. I'm really looking forward to the back half of the season.

    In summary: had a blast, but looking forward to the next few months.

    been listening to: Los Campesinos! - We are Beautiful, We are Doomed

    June '24

    Not much has happened this month. It's been the last month of class before exams (which I am procrastinating studying for as I write this), so more busy than usual but not really soul-crushing or anything. One thing I have realized is that I have only gone out like twice this semester, so hopefully I can try to do more than that in the coming months. Which is not to say I haven't been social at all, it's just that a lot of my social interactions have been about schoolwork. Which I guess don't really count. The only thing I can really think of from this month is that I've been listening to some new albums, and have found some nice stuff so I'll be adding that to the 2024 albums list.

    been listening to: Los Campesinos! - NO BLUES / Romance is Boring

    May '24

    This month started off with a week off from uni, which was nice, but I didn't really do much. Played through half of Signalis and learned to solve a Rubik's cube, then back to class.

    But then as soon as I got back to classes, my city got hit with a bunch of rain and the street leading to my house was closed down because of snow. The snow is nice, not being able to leave home is not so nice. And a while after, I had to go to Buenos Aires for the weekend, so I left my house at 3am Saturday and returned at 10pm Sunday. And immediately got sick for the entire week (and still had to go to uni once because I had a test). A very fun month.

    A couple of good news: This month I finally had to declare my major, which means I'm now officially doing mathematical engineering. Yippie. I also hit my highest ever rapid elo on chess.com, 1317.

    I've also been spending some time thinking about a girl. I believe I am the first person in history to wonder if a girl likes me. But I haven't really had the chance to talk to her that much, mainly because of the aforementioned fun I've been having.

    been listening to: Alvvays - Alvvays

    April '24

    It's been quite a month.

    The semester started in march, but april is when it really kicks in: I had one or two tests every week, plus a similar amount of homework, which worked out to about 1 assessment per weekday. As much as I would like to complain about the workload, the truth is I'm actually really enjoying all my classes. It's funny, because two years ago I didn't even know I would be studying engineering, but now I cannot imagine myself doing anything else. I've started looking at the investigation that my teachers do. Of course I can't really understand much of it yet, I'm barely starting to take classes for my major, but I still find myself very interested in them.

    Another cool thing about this year: two of my best friends are now in the same university as me! One of them switched uni, the other was already here but on a different campus. It's cool to be able to just get together anyday and talk over lunch, especially since this past year I felt like I was losing touch with them.

    Over here, I've been working on reworking the site. It's like the third rework, but this one is different, I don't want to rush anything, and I don't want to overdo anything. I don't know when the updated version will go up, and right now that doesn't really matter to me.

    been listening to: The Antlers - Hospice